MERF's ministry in Africa centers around the East African nations of Ethiopia, Eritrea, Kenya, South Sudan, Somalia, and Sudan. In South Sudan, MERF partners with the Presbyterian Church of Sudan (PCOS) to provide radio broadcasts that proclaim the truth of the Bible to South Sudanese in their own language. We also operate a center in Lokichoggio, Kenya that trains pastors and evangelists to preach the Word and shepherd God's people in Africa. In Ethiopia, MERF works with Ethiopia Reformed Fellowship in publishing Reformed books and periodicals in Amharic, Oromo, and Somali, training pastors, and broadcasting Christian radio programming. For more information on these ministries, click the links below.


Sudan is bordered by Egypt to the north, the Red Sea to the northeast, Eritrea and Ethiopia to the east, South Sudan to the south, the Central African Republic to the southwest, Chad to the west, and Libya to the northwest. The population of Sudan is a combination of indigenous inhabitants of Nile Valley, and descendants of migrants from the Arabian Peninsula. The vast majority of the population of Sudan adheres to Islam. The Nile divides the country between east and west sides. Following a referendum held in January 2011, the southern part of Sudan peacefully seceded on 9 July 2011, forming South Sudan.

Read more ...

South Sudan

South Sudan, officially the Republic of South Sudan, is a landlocked country in northeastern Africa. It is bordered by Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest, the Central African Republic to the west, and Sudan to the north. The White Nile River passes through the center of the country. South Sudan has a population of around 8 million and a predominantly rural, subsistence economy. South Sudan had been united with northern Sudan in one state until 9 July 2011,when it gained its independence after a national referendum.

Read more ...


The Republic of Kenya is a country in East Africa. Lying along the Indian Ocean, at the equator, Kenya is bordered by Ethiopia (north), Somalia (northeast), Tanzania (south), Uganda (west), and South Sudan (northwest). The capital city is Nairobi. The population has grown rapidly in recent decades to nearly 38 million.

Read more ...


Ethiopia, officially the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, is a landlocked country situated in the Horn of Africa. Ethiopia is bordered by Eritrea to the north, Sudan to the west, Kenya to the south, Somalia to the east and Djibouti to the north-east. Ethiopia is one of the oldest countries in the world and Africa's second-most populous nation. Having converted during the fourth century AD, it is also the second-oldest country to become officially Christian, after Armenia. Ethiopia also has a considerable Muslim minority since the earliest days of Islam - being the site of the first Hijra in Islam history, the earliest 9th century Sultanates, the oldest Muslim settlement in Africa at Negash and home to the fourth holiest Muslim city of Harar—but the country has been officially secular since 1974.

Read more ...


Eritrea, officially the State of Eritrea, is a country in the Horn of Africa. It is bordered by Sudan in the west, Ethiopia in the south, and Djibouti in the southeast. The east and northeast of the country have an extensive coastline on the Red Sea, directly across from Saudi Arabia and Yemen. The Dahlak Archipelago and several of the Hanish Islands are part of Eritrea. Its size is just under 118,000 km2 (45,560 sq mi) with an estimated population of 5 million. The capital is Asmara.

Read more ...

More Articles ...

  1. Somalia
  2. North Africa


1. Stay Informed with MERF News

2. Be a Prayer Partner

3. Donate to Ministries

Get MERF News

Stay Informed with MERF News. Keep up with recent developments and specific prayer requests

Subscribe via email or regular mail.

Download at

Mail a Donation

Mail a donation to an address in your country. See the address list at the bottom of this web page.